“Can you teach me how to make a card?”

A few weeks ago my roommate asked me if I could teach her how to make a card. I agreed to, but then I started thinking about how I learned how to make them.

I think a lot of what I know comes out of practice, and definitely a lot of trial and error. I’ve got a ton of scraps to show for it that weren’t quite the right width, or were and then I ended up not using them. I never know which papers would be best for the background or foreground and when to use different elements in different ways. I think it’s more about developing a specific style than anything, and embracing it. I honestly don’t like my style consistently. But I think developing that style is what really matters. And I’m glad that it’s taken me a couple of years to get to where I am in terms of making cards, because for the most part, I don’t finish them up and then reuse the same parts for other cards like I did before because I don’t like it, even if it still takes me a LOOONG LOOONG time to make them :-D Anywho, I did end up making a card in front of her, even if it took me a while. And here it is!!!

thankyou_octafternoon_deer

Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Patterned paper: October Afternoon; Stamps: Hero Arts, Anna Griffin; Felt flower: American Crafts; Rhinestones: Prima, Darice.

It’s super simple and it was definitely a nice starter project for a person who’s never made cards before. I wasn’t quite sure about the flower accent at first, but I think I’ve grown to like it. And, of course, it has woodgrain on it :-) Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

