New Hero Arts and a technique I fell in love with…

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the standard Christmas colors of red and green, but I was thinking of doing something different when I made this card.

I had a friend who really loved purple. And though I haven’t kept in touch with her recently, I was thinking about how one of my favorite colors, like hers, is a super deep, almost black purple. Not quite plum, but not quite eggplant either. I picked up this cardstock from my LSS the other day. I don’t know the name of the shade unfortunately (the little name tab was missing from the little slot), but I realized how nicely it would go with my new Hero Arts stamps, and my newest ink pad, so I decided to give it a whirl and see what would happen. I made a couple of mistakes along the way, but I guess it just shows you how literally anything can be fixed or used differently!

I initially wanted to stamp the background with purple ink on white cardstock, but then I realized the image was slightly smaller than a card front. I thought i had made a mistake and cut out a sheet of the purple cardstock into a card–and then made another mistake doing that. Turns out it was a quarter inch shorter width-wise. But it did fit the stamp this time, and it looked nice in Versamark. I then tried layering it on top of a regular-sized white card, and decided to layer a portion of the first card (the white in purple ink) over both layers. (I hope this is making sense to people reading this.)

Then I started thinking about how I would stick the purple cardstock to the white base. I was thinking about stapling it, but then I remembered how they never layer correctly when I want to do that. And so I chose to do a little pamphlet stitch to put them together, a few brads, and a little sentiment, and voila! A bit of a twist on a traditional Christmas card! I’ve done this technique a couple of times already, and I love it!

holidaycheer_heroarts

Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Stamps: Hero Arts; Ink: ColorBox, VersaMark, Close to My Heart; Embroidery Floss: DMC; Brads: Making Memories.

I hope you get to try something new today!

Leave a Reply

