On using favorite stamps for the first time in a long time

There was this one time where I bought an Inkadinkado clear stamp set just because I really liked one image out of the ten or so that were in it.

This was two or so years ago, and the last (and only) card I can remember using it for was for my mentor, Jenny, after I took over her position as Education Chair in the community organization we were in. I made a whole bunch of cards for everyone in the club, but for different reasons, I guess I remember this card the most.

Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Scalloped notecard: Paper Source; Patterned paper: Basic Grey; Stamps: Inkadinkado; Ink: Brilliance by Tsukineko.

Maybe it was because it was made with my favorite Basic Grey line at the time, Sultry. Sultry is still one of my favorites, in fact. Especially that floral patterned paper :-) Though I put a copyright of 2009 on the photo, I made it way back in May 2008, more than two years ago when I was still a second year. It kind of invokes this bittersweet feeling in me, I suppose, partially because back then I was so idealistic that anything seemed possible, and because for me, then, college seemed like it would go on forever. Now that it’s almost over, I’m not quite sure what to feel anymore.

But I know that cardmaking has made me incredibly happy despite all the changes that have happened in the past two years. I’m not as close to some people anymore, but they are still very much a part of how I conceive myself, and when Jenny and I reconnected a few months ago it was quite nice to meet up again. I’m still learning about myself, the good parts and the bad, and picking up this bird stamp again just made me realize how much I’ve changed since I last used it. Is that weird?

Anyways, here’s a newer card I made with this stamp. I initially wasn’t so sure about the placement of the bird image, but I’ve grown to like it since I started typing out this post :-P Weird how feelings change so quickly!

Cardstock: Bazzill Basics, Paper Source; Patterned paper: October Afternoon; Border punch: Fiskars; Silver accents: Michaels/ Recollections; Stamps: Hero Arts, Inkadinkado; Ink: Colorbox Chalk, VersaFine.

Or maybe it’s just my cold that’s getting to me.

See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

