Sending You Lots of Hugs

As of Saturday, June 12, 2010, I am officially a college graduate! Yay!

It’s the strangest thing to say, really. I was one of the LAST to graduate since I sat WAAAYYYY up front (the receiving line for you to shake hands with professors started at the back). Like, first row front. Like, my ears were ringing from the speakers up front.

I got to shake hands with two professors I did not know, snap a picture with one of them, and went back down from the stage to my seat, having done what I set out to do four years ago. Then I waited to file out again.

It was kind of anticlimactic, but once I walked away, I realized how I am happy to have gone through this experience. The laughter, the tears, the long nights at Gateway Study Center, the hundreds of books I pulled out of the library, and the numerous office hours I spent with different instructors/TAs/professors were somehow a distant memory, and yet had impacted me so much that I knew that the intellectual growth I had experienced in college was so worth it. I can’t believe it’s all over, both in reality and ceremonially.

When I visited the Student Center today I felt strange being there. It was pretty empty, for one, but also, it wasn’t really MY Student Center anymore. I can say I’m an alumna, but not a student anymore. It’s weird. I’ve always identified as a student within the space of the university that I’ve called home for so long. And now, I’m going to have to get used to another university environment, closer to my childhood home but a world away from the university I spent most of my adult life attending.

Thinking about this made me think what kind of card I would give myself, if I wasn’t myself (i.e., if I were someone else and had met someone just like me, in the exact same position as me). Sounds strange, huh? But then I flipped through my photo folder and saw this, it just spoke to me.

Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Patterned paper, chipboard: Cosmo Cricket; Stamp: Hero Arts; Ink: VersaFine.

I may never give this card away now.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments
2 Responses to “Sending You Lots of Hugs”
  1. Lydia says:

    Great card amazing color!! Love it!!

  2. Paige Evans says:

    Hi Maeghan – thanks so much for the Paper Source tip, I will definitely check there for Kolo albums.

    Super cute card and congrats on your graduation!!

Leave a Reply

